Skip to content

Review: Captivating

October 10, 2011

As women, we desire for our beauty to be captivating.  We are asking, “Do you see me?”  A question that John & Stasi Eldredge clearly gives us the answer to in their book Captivating (Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul).  In most instances, we asked our parents this at a young age and if this question was not answered by them we found ways to get the answer.  Unfortunately as a teenager, I received my answer from boys.  But I am grateful for the Father whom answers the questions of my heart today, “Do you see me, Am I lovely, Do I captivate you?”

Like the stories/movies we’ve grown to love as little girls: Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Gone with the Wind, and Titanic, this book tells us that we are apart of a love story and that God is the hero and romancer after our hearts. We learn that he possesses the answers to all of our questions.  With snipets like: “The more His we become the more ourselves we become” and “Jesus has moved Heaven and Earth to win you for Himself”, there’s no way that you cannot fall in love with Him and not know that your are loved, beautiful, and seen.

This is another must have for women and young girls.  Also there is a male counterpart to this book  called, Wild at Heart by John Eldredge.  Please check it out!

Make this personal: I am the lead character (the Beauty) in a love story.  God is my hero, my lover, my pursuer; protecting me from the villain (Satan) who is out to make assaults on my soul.  So I ask you, what would a love story be without the victor and his beauty?

For more reviews on this book Click Here.

No comments yet

Leave a comment