Skip to content

The Bigger Picture

September 14, 2010

In this article, I wanted to be more transparent and let you all into my personal life.  I will not go into details but you will get the gist of things.  As I have stated on my Purpose Page, I can only write from my experiences so I thought what better way to show you how God works then by letting you into my life a bit.  So….Welcome!

It’s been about a month since I’ve been back in Atlanta.  I went to St. Louis to visit family.  Unfortunately, the visit held up to my expectations of not going well.  There is this strained relationship with my mom and I.  Things that happened when I was younger that she may feel I’ve done wrong and vice-versa.  And while I have let go of those thing, there are events that keep occurring that makes me question my mom’s intentions.  I hate to say it but she keeps record of everything and yes she is saved (that is neither here nor there).  But I no longer want to be held accountable for those things because I am a different person now; hey, I am a no longer a child…..I am a Christian woman.  Although I believe everyone wants a great relationship with their parents or family members, sometimes it seems impossible; especially when there is not a clear understanding of forgiveness.

To simplify things let’s define the words:

Forgive-to cease to feel resentment against or to grant pardon for an offense/debt.

Forgiveness-a willingness to forgive.

I defined both forgive and forgiveness to clarify that this action is a choice.  Now, let’s see what the bible tells us about forgiveness.  In short there is a story of  a man named Joseph, who was sold into slavery by his brothers.  He later became prime minister (which is second to the king) and as a result, he was able to help his brothers and their families when a famine came over Egypt (to get a better picture of the story, read Genesis 30-50).  Now that is forgiveness!  He chose to forgive his siblings for their wrong doings because he knew there was a bigger picture.  See what they meant as harm turned out as good.  It is awesome that we DO NOT have to seek revenge and Joseph knew this.  He knew that whatever God had planned, would be far greater than what he could have ever done.

See, God spoke of revenge on a few occasions:

Deuteronomy 32:35

Proverbs 20:22

Hebrews 10:30

So surely if Joseph can forgive his family whom sold him into slavery, I can do the same and you too because God gives us the same mercy, if not more.  So the next time someone mistreats you, think of Joseph and the strength that God gave him to forgive.  Forgiveness is there, we just have to find it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

