Skip to content

Dream Chaser

August 19, 2010

Most children have dreams of what they will be when they grow up.  Some, may have desires to have traditional careers such as doctors, teachers, or lawyers.    This is typical.  The American way, embeds in us that traditional education is the only way to make more money (to later be stuck with loans which is where most of that money will go).  This is the “good life” most would say.  Now a days, parents do not give their children any other option because there is no other option.  But I do not agree, there is another option and that is the Lord’s way.

The Lord’s way began during childhood.  When you had this certain uniqueness.  You possessed a talent.  Your talent may have been that you were good with numbers so you would be a great accountant or you were good with words so you would be an excellent writer.  Whatever the gift, it should have been nurtured.

The bible states train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it. Many interpret this to mean, discipline your children so that they will not depart from God.  While this is true, the Hebrew interpretation is that you train the child up in the areas where they excel or have a profound desire.  This will lessen the chance of going to college only to change majors three times, then discovering that college is not where it’s at, but being a chef was always the dream job.  By following your God-given talents you will help to further the kingdom of God.

I am going against the grain, against the traditional ways in order to follow the Lord’s way for my life.  By doing so, “I will have switched,” as my pastor says, “from earning a living to receiving a living (from God).” See, before I  enrolled in college I had this desire to be a cosmetologist, only to be discouraged because a degree would help me make more money.  But life isn’t about more!  So, after completing my sophomore year of college, I still wanted to be a cosmetologist.  So, I have  withdrawn from college  and enrolled in cosmetology school because I want to live with no regrets.  I want to be fulfilled and I want to know that I completed my purpose for which God has called me.  I decided that my life would not be about more but my life will be about fulfillment, so when I grow up I want to be a dream chaser.

Proverbs 22:6

Other References:

How to think about & manage money: Vision

Knowing and Doing God’s Will

Inspiration:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

