Skip to content

This Marathon

July 28, 2010

Amongst many things, there is one thing we all try to avoid.  That, is discipline!  As a teenager, I’m sure most of us said, “I can’t wait until I’m eighteen.” Little did we know that discipline would not stop in our parents home.  This word would follow us like our shadow.  It would play a major role in completing this marathon called life.

Discipline is an important factor in our daily lives.  Have you ever heard the saying, “You can tell if a person is disciplined or not by their weight.” At first, this quote was shocking but once I dug deeper I found that this is one category of discipline.  Other areas may include: finances, time management, emotions, and thoughts.  While this list can go on for days, the most meaningful is, discipline in our spiritual lives.

How many times have you hungered for a deeper relationship with God?  This desire burns like forest fires in CA, water cannot satisfy this fire’s thirst to destroy.  How many of us have felt like this writer Lydia Serreen?  When I read this I was immediately touched  because I could relate.  I had been feeling the exact way but never let it out, it’s good to know that I am not alone in this battle (Thanks Lydia for having the courage to share this).

Each week after attending church on Sunday, I would set a goal for myself.  I would strive for a deeper relationship with God.  I wanted/want to drown in his holy spirit.  But this task seemed impossible.  With the many things going on, the many burdens, and the lack of time.  How can we improve in this area?

The bible says:  Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.  Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.   Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air.   No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

From this verse I found three things that we must do:

  • Train-training may consist of getting up earlier than usual in order to….
  1. ….seek first His kingdom and His righteousness
  • Motivation-what makes you want to seek Him?
  1. ….all these things will be added to you.
  2. ….spirit will rule over the flesh
  • Purpose-why do it?
  1. do it to get a crown that will last forever (eternally)

There are two things that I have learned from my dear friend Lydia:

  1. there is a possibility that someone is struggling with a similar situation as you
  2. we need someone to hold us accountable

So who will you help or find to help you, run this race?

Do you have any suggestion on how to improve in this area?  If so , leave a comment.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27

Matthew 6:33

Galatians 5:17

Other scriptures on Discipline that were not referenced in this article:

Deuteronomy 4:36

Deuteronomy 8:5

Job 5:17

Titus 1:8

Hebrews 12:6-11

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

