Skip to content

Who are you?

July 26, 2010

In today’s society we all are associated with some type of label.  This can be due to race, sex, class, size, right down to the color of your hair.  Heck, even the government labels you! Does social security number ring a bell? Banks label you with an account number, even schools give an I.D. number.  What are the odds of someone at either of these establishments knowing you by name?

When I was six years old,  my father passed.  He was never in my life (no fault of his own) but as I had gotten older I began to notice the importance of a father.  I felt inadequate!  I had been deprived of the opportunity to form a complete identity, my identity.  Who was I?  I had a mother who I felt did not love me and rejected me as a daughter.  I always wondered, if my father was alive would I have been given the chance of feeling like I belonged to someone.  My label was Fatherless; because of this I looked for love in many places.  Only to be rebuffed, no one could give me the love of a father.

By the age of twenty-two, I began to get to know someone.  He said, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.” He continued, Don’t you know(paraphrase), I’ve called your name.  You’re mine.  Look, I’ve written your name on the backs of my hands. He was my Father, had been all along.  See, I was never fatherless; Jesus had been my father all along, he was just waiting for me to accept Him as my father.

Have you been labeled or labeled yourself?   Remember, it is necessary for you to know that you are God’s child, He proclaimed it.  So, let us strip free from the negative labels in our past, to better our present, in order to receive the best in our future.

So you ask, who am I? “I am a Jesus woman!

Jeremiah 1:5

Isaiah 43:1

Isaiah 49:16

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lydia Gaddis permalink
    July 26, 2010 8:00 PM

    Thank you for this reminder. God can overcome any label and any insecurity that we might have . Its sometimes hard for me to grasp the depth of His love, but when we really take the time to think about it…its just a very humbling experience.

Trackbacks

  1. Review: When a Woman Meets Jesus « A Wife's Perspective

Leave a Reply

