Skip to content

Girl Talk, Over Coffee

June 7, 2010

The beginning of our marriage was the most difficult time.  Many would think that because we were newlyweds that everything was peaches and cream but in fact it was the total opposite.  It was more like clumpy spoiled milk! Yuck!!  Now, don’t get it twisted, we had our good times but when it was bad, it took its toll on our marriage.

We both came into this marriage with expectations and because of this, we argued a lot. The bad thing about it is, we knew better because we were taught about having unrealistic expectation  in marriage counseling.  Unfortunately, it was in those  tough times, that I felt the loneliest.  I felt that I had no where or no one to run to.  When in fact, I did.

Time was critical, so it was important for me to take this as an opportunity to deepen my relationship with God.  It was time to learn that I always had someone to run to; someone who would never get tired of hearing the same thing over and over. As I had this time to reflect, I began to realize the power of prayer.

If I wanted change, I had to change first; I began this change by praying for myself. Over time, God began doing amazing things.  Not only would  he start to change  me,  he would begin to open doors by surrounding  me with other wives. Note: It is crucial, that we as wives have the proper guidance that the bible speaks of  in Titus.

“Your job is to speak out on the things that make for solid doctrine. Guide older men into lives of temperance, dignity, and wisdom, into healthy faith, love, and endurance. Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior. Also, guide the young men to live disciplined lives.”

Take the time to develop a relationship with someone that is honest, trust worthy, and spiritually mature.  Go have girl talk over coffee!  So……. who will you choose to help guide you through this profound mystery–for which a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.

Titus 2:1-6

Ephesians 5:31-32

Disclaimer: For this walk, the blind cannot lead the blind.  Therefore, if you’re getting information from a single  person, a divorced person, or someone that speaks against your marriage, you’re setting your marriage up for failure.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. MzFree permalink
    June 24, 2010 5:06 PM

    Hey Crystal! Brandon told me about Charles’ blog and I found yours on his page. Anyway… I totally agree with you on this topic. My friend was going through a difficult time in her marriage last year and we spoke often about it. She expressed to me how there was such a difference between talking to her girlfriends who are walking the walk with God and to those who are nonbelievers. I wholeheartedly believe that as we are trying to live according to His will, it is important to be aware of who we allow to speak into our lives. The world’s advice about marriage often does not go hand in hand with God’s word about marriage. So constantly hanging out and getting marital advice from someone who is “blind” (as you put it) can hurt your faith in the end. Girl talk over coffee… I love it 🙂

    • June 24, 2010 7:59 PM

      You are so right, it is definitely important to have people speak great things into your life that’s why Charles and I both wanted to start a blog that expressed a Godly view of marriage. Now, we don’t have it all together but it’s good to share what we’ve been through because I’m sure someone else can relate too. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

